Iran et États-Unis: nouveaux présidents, même histoire ?

19 octobre 2021. À partir de 18:30 | Conférence | Anglais | Online
slideshow image Source: Reuters

À plusieurs reprises au cours des trois dernières décennies, la politique étrangère de l’Iran a été directement affectée par les transitions administratives à Téhéran et à Washington, faisant souvent dérailler les efforts d’un côté ou de l’autre pour apporter un changement positif dans cette relation bilatérale tendue. Hélas, la relève de la garde à Washington en 2016 a été une autre de ces occasions. L’arrivée de Trump a entraîné le démantèlement total des efforts diplomatiques déployés par l’administration Obama pour contenir la crise diplomatique et sécuritaire qui engloutit le programme nucléaire iranien et les efforts pour créer une tournure positive dans les relations. L’élection de Trump a entraîné la réimposition de sanctions encore plus sévères à l’encontre de l’Iran et de tous ceux qui commercent avec le pays, et davantage de tensions suite à la volonté de l’administration de s’engager dans une action cinétique directe contre les intérêts et les acteurs iraniens. La politique de Trump a durci les positions de Téhéran et conduit à l’échec du JCPoA et à la résurgence des forces conservatrices dans le pays, en particulier de celles qui étaient étroitement liées au chef. L’élection de Joe Biden en novembre 2020 était censée apporter un soulagement et apporter un changement positif, nous devons donc nous demander pourquoi cela ne s’est pas produit ? Selon l’orateur, les réponses résident dans l’évolution de la dynamique politique à Téhéran, d’une part, et la persistance de conditions difficiles aux niveaux régional et international, d’autre part. Ehteshami les discute dans le contexte des changements politiques internes qui ont eu lieu en Iran et aux États-Unis.

Anoush Ehteshami est professeur de relations internationales à la School of Government and International Affairs de l’Université de Durham, où il est également directeur de l’Institute for Middle Eastern & Islamic Studies (IMEIS). Auparavant, il a été codirecteur du Centre de recherche et de formation pour l’étude avancée du monde arabe (CASAW). Il a également été membre des Global Future Councils du Forum économique mondial et vice-président et président du conseil de la British Society for Middle Eastern Studies (BRISMES). Ehteshami a produit une longue liste d’œuvres, parmi les plus remarquables de ses œuvres, citons ses livres d’auteur les plus récents Islam, IS and the Fragmented State: The Challenges of Political Islam in the MENA Region (2020), Iran: Stuck in Transition (2017 ), et son article de journal Iran’s Asianization.

Présenté par Jordi Quero, professeur à la CEI Affaires internationales et coordinateur du Master, CEI-UB. Co-organisé par l’IEMed dans le cadre du programme Aula Mediterrània 2021-22 en collaboration avec la CEI-UB.

Speakers


Speaker

Anoush Ehteshami

Professor Durham University
Moderator

Jordi Quero

Professor CEI International Affairs

Organisateurs

Iran and the United States: New Presidents, Old Same Story?

19 October 2021. From 18:30  | Conference | English | Online
slideshow image Source: Reuters

On several occasions over the last three decades Iran’s foreign policy has been directly affected by administration transitions in Tehran and Washington, often derailing efforts by one side or the other to affect positive change in this tense bilateral relationship. Alas, the changing of the guard in Washington in 2016 was another such occasion. The arrival of Trump led to the total dismantling of the diplomatic efforts made by the Obama administration to contain the diplomatic and security crisis engulfing Iran’s nuclear programme and efforts to create a positive spin in relations. Trump’s election led to the reimposition of even harsher sanctions on Iran and all those who traded with the country, and more tensions following the administration’s willingness to engage in direct kinetic action against Iranian interests and actors. Trump’s policies hardened the arteries in Tehran and the failure of JCPoA led to the resurgence of conservative forces at home, particularly of those who were closely allied with the Leader. The election of Joe Biden in November 2020 was meant to provide relief and bring about positive change, so we need to ask why has not this happened? Answers in the view of the speaker lie in the changing political dynamics in Tehran, on the one hand, and continuing difficult conditions at both the regional and international levels, on the other. Ehteshami discusses these in the context of the domestic political changes which have been taking place in both Iran and the United States.

Anoush Ehteshami is a professor of International Relations in the School of Government and International Affairs at Durham University, where he is also the Director of the Institute for Middle Eastern & Islamic Studies (IMEIS). Previously, he served as a Joint Director of the research and training Centre for the Advanced Study of the Arab World (CASAW). He also served as a Fellow of the Global Future Councils in the World Economic Forum and as Vice-President and Chair of Council of the British Society for Middle Eastern Studies (BRISMES). Ehteshami has produced an extensive list of works, among the most notable of his works include his most recent authored books Islam, IS and the Fragmented State: The Challenges of Political Islam in the MENA Region (2020), Iran: Stuck in Transition (2017), and his journal article Iran’s Asianization.

Conference by Anoush Ehteshami, professor of International Relations and Jordi Quero, professor at CEI International Affairs. Co-organised by the IEMed as part of the Aula Mediterrània 2021-22 programme in collaboration with the Master’s in Diplomacy and International Organizations CEI/UB.

This lecture can be followed live on Zoom (with previous registration) or on YouTube.

Speakers


Speaker

Anoush Ehteshami

Professor Durham University
Moderator

Jordi Quero

Professor CEI International Affairs

Organised by